LaSalle, D., & Britton, T. (2003). The Journey Begins: The Experience Engagement Process. In Priceless: Turning Ordinary Products into Extraordinary Experiences (Summary)

This chapter examines different stages of consumer consumption. The five stages presented in this chapter were adapted from a decision model from John Arndt. The basic idea of this chapter is that through study of these stages, a business can better learn how to find their true value to customers in each stage of their experience. The first stage is the Discover stage, where the customer begins to look for products and services that may fulfill a need. The main advice from this chapter for the Discover phase is to be brief in the message and provide customers with a clear indication of the value they will receive. The next stage, Evaluate, is where consumers utilize internet research methods to compare and narrow down their potential choices. This section examines subtle persuasions such as targeted content marketing (although that is not the term they use in the chapter, but it’s from 2003). It also discusses the benefits of trying products in different scenarios.

According to the author, every customer comes in to the Acquire stage at some point, to purchase goods and services. I would disagree that all customers make it here, as there are other factors that may halt the process in between stages. The concept of this stage is basic, but, the process of acquiring involves many parts (and potential sacrifices). This is where things like location and accessibility, or loyalty programs influence motivation. After purchasing, the customer must Integrate the product into their lives. For some things this is simple, such as taking it home and putting it away. Services, however, demand a new schedule from the customer. This is the stage where the customer learns to use the product, and they may learn that they don’t like it anymore (or they love it). The final stage is Extend, where the customer is more likely to become loyal to a company or product. If the customer had a good experience, they are more likely to return to fulfill the same need from the same place. I included this chapter because this is the process many businesses still think of when it comes to loyalty. The information is all there in the chapter, but there have been updates to terminology that make it read outdated.

LaSalle, D., & Britton, T. (2003). The Journey Begins: The Experience Engagement Process. In Priceless: Turning Ordinary Products into Extraordinary Experiences (pp. 47–69). Boston, Mass: Harvard Business School Press.

If these posts are helpful to you, consider sending me a coffee!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s